Naperville Sun

One person has filed to run against Naperville Mayor Steve Chirico, and nine people have submitted petitions to run for four city council seats in the April 2 election.

Both Chirico and Richard “Rocky” Caylor filed their petitions at 8 a.m. Monday, the first day to file nominating papers at the Naperville Municipal Center.

Chirico, owner of Great Western Flooring, is nearing the end of his first term as mayor. Caylor owns Caylor Consulting with his wife and is president and CEO of Joliet-based Cadence Premier Logistics.

Because both men filed their petitions at the same time Monday, a lottery will be held to determine whose name will be first on the ballot.

The nine people who filed for the four council seats include incumbents Patty Gustin, a real estate broker first elected in 2015, and Paul Hinterlong, a plumber who was first elected to city council in 2009.

The following is a list of non-incumbents who have filed petitions to run for a city council seat.

  • Michele Hilger Clemen, is a sales manager for Friendship Senior Options, a nonprofit continuing care retirement community provider that has locations in Schaumburg and Geneva. The Naperville resident is president-elect of Naperville Community Television Chanel 17, serves as chairwoman of Naperville’s Housing Advisory Commission, and has previously been involved with the Naperville Jaycees and the Rotary Club of Naperville.
  • Bruce Hanson currently serves as a member of the Naperville Planning and Zoning Commission and announced his bid for a city council seat in early August. Hanson is a leadership and business advisory consultant for Intentional Impact LLC, and previously served on the city’s Special Events and Cultural Amenities Commission, as a Naperville Public Library trustee and as chairman of the city’s Financial Advisory Board.
  • Patrick Kelly is a medical, dental and real estate attorney and is owner of the Kelly Law Firm in downtown Naperville. Kelly is involved with the Naperville Jaycees, the DuPage Children’s Museum Next Gen board, the Naperville Chamber of Commerce Young Professionals Board and the West Suburban Irish. Kelly also represents the Pilgrim Addition neighborhood on the Fifth Avenue redevelopment steering committee.
  • Bradford Miller is a real estate attorney with his own practice, Bradford Miller Law, which has a main office in Chicago and a satellite office in Naperville. Miller has lived in Naperville for nearly six years, is a precinct committeeman and is involved with several organizations, including Naperville Jaycees, Loaves and Fishes, and St. Raphael Church and School.
  • Whitney Robbins was appointed to the Naperville Liquor Commission in 2016. According to Naperville Sun archives, she is a graduate of Naperville North High School and the University of Kansas. At the time she was appointed to the liquor commission, Robbins was employed by XO Communications since 1998 and served as its director of customer experience.
  • Theresa Sullivan is founder and partner of Wayfinder Advisors, a career advising firm that helps professionals find greater fulfillment in their careers. Prior to that, Sullivan worked in technology relationship management for IBM, Deloitte, LinkedIn and others. Sullivan’s service experience includes serving as an elected precinct committewoman in Lisle Township in the Saybrook neighborhood and roles at her children’s Naperville schools.
  • David Wentz served one term on the city council, from 2013 to 2015, and was not re-elected in the 2015 election. Wentz cited “unfinished business” as his reason for running again when he announced his campaign in September. Wentz is an attorney for Brooks, Tarulis & Tibble in Naperville, and serves as chairman of Naperville’s Citizens Appreciate Public Safety Board. Additionally, Wentz served as a Naperville Township Board trustee from 2009 to 2013,

All nine candidates filed simultaneously at 8 a.m. Monday. Ballot placement will be determined by a lottery.

Councilwoman Rebecca Boyd Obarski is not running for re-election and Councilwoman Becky Anderson had not filed nominating petitions as of late Monday morning.

Candidates can file to be on the April 2 ballot through Nov. 26. All candidates will be placed on the ballot in the order they submit their petitions. Their names will appear after those who filed Monday morning.


Share This